Playing about with Processing

In workshops and in spare time I have been playing about with processing more and learning more of the language to broaden my Processing horizons.
In the workshop we started off with our usual ‘void setup’ and ‘void draw’ functions and then used triangles (triangle()) and rectangles (rect()) to create an image of a house. We then played with this so that it drew a house for each frame the mouse was held down for. I was being very imaginative and drew my name…

Screen Shot 2014-10-17 at 10.08.15

We then went on to create rows of houses and to rotate them. To create the blur effect we reduced the opacity levels of the object and this was the outcome:

Screen Shot 2014-10-17 at 10.23.45

In the workshop we also learnt about arrays so we could make a colour palette, so from this workshop I then went home and played around with the sketch. I was amazed at what I could create from simply changing a few small things. For example instead of having a house, I simply made an ellipse of an oval, I changed the opacity of the objects and I changed or added colours to my array.

pretty.spiral pretty.spiral3  house spiral pretty.spiral4  pretty.spiral5 pretty.spiral6

We were also taught how to export our sketch as a video, so I did this with one of my creations:

Leave a Reply

