Camera Interaction in Processing

Within Processing there are numerous examples of camera interaction that can be used and edited to create various different forms of camera interaction. Below are the video examples that are given:

Screen Shot 2015-01-07 at 14.30.37

This could be a good basis for ideas for my interactive design, and then I could build the idea

Screen Shot 2015-01-07 at 14.47.31

The most important part of camera interaction is the code above – this loads the camera for the information to be captured from. The possibilities with camera interaction for almost endless, see my Interactive Design Ideas post for my ideas of what I have come up with for camera interaction.

For example, this is what the Mirror 2 example looks like when run,

 

Screen Shot 2015-01-07 at 14.43.29

but it can be altered so easily, such as in the image below I changed the colour by changing the number of the background colour, and I also changed the ‘rect’ to an ‘ellipse’, making the pixels circles instead of squares.

Screen Shot 2015-01-07 at 14.59.20

 

From this, I am going to go through the examples already given and try and edit to try and create a really interesting and different example. One of my ideas is to capture a face and link it to my bouncing ball example, so it is essentially a bouncing face, this will be my next Processing task.

Leave a Reply

