Introduction to my ideas

From the get-go, I have known that I wanted to create a completely immersive experience for a user/audience. I have always been interested in the concept of escapism, and allowing a user to situate themselves in a different environment to where they currently are.

I remembered from years ago an audio piece I listened to called the virtual barber shop. The piece instructed me to put on headphones and shut my eyes. From the audio that was playing, it felt as though I was in a barber shop having a real haircut.

I was really fascinated by this and how audio could trick the brain into feeling like it is somewhere else, and I knew I wanted to explore this idea along with the use of a visual aid. After researching, I found that this technology is called Binaural Audio and that it has been used for many years, but not used widely.

I have chosen the technology of binaural audio to work with because I feel it is very under-used for the effect it has on the user. When used in combination with a virtual visual environment, it creates a completely immersive experience, where the user feels like they have been transported into a different environment to where they currently are. Virtual reality is about a change of multiple senses to ensure the user feels like they are in an alternate environment and eventually I imagine some VR installations to include a change of smell, taste and touch, as well as sight and sound.

Leave a Reply

