The Cylinder – Initial Mock Ups

To help me visualise how to make the cylinder, I have made some basic mock-ups explaining the options I have, as well as a rough size guide.

Ideally, I would like to be able to make the cylinder like the left mock-up (more like a coil/spiral shape), because it is a more elegant and seamless shape. However, if this is going to be more difficult, then I could make it into an almost-full cylinder but leaving a gap for the audience to enter.
I have estimated the size to be 2m diameter, and 2.5m high, this is to accommodate for arms with, and for the cylinder to be ceiling height.
I then intend for the headphones to either be attached to the ceiling, or to have wireless headphones that the audience picks up when they enter the cylinder.

I send the left design to my friend Jimi Friel – a product designer – who kindly said he would help to turn them into a CAD mock-up, to be able to see the cylinder more realistically. These are the designs he produced:

Leave a Reply

